Tractors for Sale!

The boys and mom went on a special outing last Wednesday…

To a tractor auction!

Why?

Because these tractors were a part of Megan’s youth and growing up. Her neighbor Al restored all of them over the years. He has spent countless retirement hours (devoted like a full-time job) for the past 20 years on the tractor-restoration. And he decided to have a huge auction to sell them. Megan’s sister Kim and she had to take the kids to get one last picture with the tractors the weekend before the sale.

Al and Gloria with the kids

These people (and tractors) have had such a significant role in Meg’s life. They have loved us like family, and we hope they feel their love reciprocated. Gloria spent hours building Lego castles with me as a kid and teaching me about all the beautiful antiques in her home (my sisters would often send me over to her house when I was driving them crazy).

And Al would open his shed doors and let us sit on, admire, and even drive one of his masterpieces (I think there were around 80 in total)!

This collection is not something that can be easy explained. It was truly breathtaking—even if you are not into tractors.

So, we celebrated with pictures the weekend before.

Carson just loved sitting on them!

And on the day of the sale, we all watched as people admired the tractors. We hugged Al and Gloria a lot, and it was just so special to be there. Carson and Coleman did awesome. We got plenty of puzzled looks—a young mom with twins was not the target customer population. But, I just had to be there.

Al and Gloria,

These tractors, along with all of the other special things you have done with me growing up are truly some of the best memories I have. You have both influenced me so significantly, and I love you dearly. Thank you for allowing us to be there with you on this special day and all the special days of being your neighbor girl. And now, thank you for loving my kids. It means so much.

Love,

Megan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tractors for Sale!

  1. kristina jameson says:

    I am crying!!! Great pics, sweet sentiments…i am so proud to be a farm girl!

  2. Liz says:

    I LOVE these pictures!!! Having grown up with tractors myself there is just something wonderful about seeing them all lined up like they are in these photos. And the boys…with their John Deere hats on – priceless!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!

  3. annettepare says:

    This is really cool, Megan… I love following your blog (and as a photographer I totally empathize with your attempts at getting a cute 1 year photos – together! … But I LOVE the John Deere tractors and the seemingly beautiful relationship you have with this couple. Blessings on them!

  4. Pam Eason says:

    Loved the pictures. I grew up riding John Deere tractors too 🙂

Leave a Reply

